When did it Happen!?

I’m going to come out and say it. Whats so bloody special about Fathers Day and when did it get blown out of perspective. In my lifetime, Mothering Sunday has always been quite a big deal kind off up there with Birthdays and Christmas. A day (although I don’t) to celebrate and treat your mum. Fathers day has always seemed to be a cheap add on, a day dedicated to them so they don’t feel left out.

But as I scan my Facebook and Twitter Feeds, I find they are flooded with pictures of my friends dads and messages saying what a top bloke they are or were. What I fail to understand is why and how as it become a big occasion… It seems to be as big if not bigger than Mothering Sunday.

I once again have refused to spend the £2 on a card to say ‘Thanks Dad’ I have even failed to wish him a ‘Happy Fathers Day’ and because of that I have been shunned. Really! Why? Why suddenly do we have this big expectation of this non event? Why do we put so much (Money) effort and time into these pointless days and at the end of it what does a Hallmark card and a new golf ball or some gardening tools actually say. Call me cynical but it is all about money, every shop pushing adverts and promotions with gift sets and even if it’s not wrapped up in a box with “dad” packaging then supermarkets have got posters above the Scotch, Whiskey, Ale or razors informing of what a great gift they would make. Here dad, thanks for being there for me have a Bic.

Oh well rant over.

Leave a comment